Bananas…

No, I’m not going bananas; although some may think I’ve been there for a while now. I’m talking about uses for your bananas. Not the green ones you just bought. Not the yellow bananas that just about everyone likes to eat (Really, are there people that don’t like bananas?). I’m talking about these bananas:

Photo Dec 30, 6 09 52 PM

 

You know the bananas your kids won’t eat because the “look” bad. The brown bananas that everyone skips over in the fruit bowl because they look pathetic.

***Money Saving TIP***

Many grocery stores will discount these bananas to keep from having to toss them out and writing them off. If your local grocery store doesn’t do like my local Kroger does (wrap them with a new SKU # as pictured above), ask your produce associate if they will make them down. I generally save 35 to 65 cents per pound this way!

Here are just a few things you can do with these bananas:

  • Cut into chucks, bag in freezer bags, and freeze for smoothies.
  • Use them to cook with.
  • Dehydrate them to make sweet banana chips.

I love to use frozen bananas in my smoothies. They act at the “ice” to get the smoothie really cold and are a great filler to make the smoothie thick and tasty. My favorite smoothie recipe is:

  • 1 scoop of Chocolate Whey protein powder (I use BSN Syntha-6).
  • 8 oz of milk (can be substituted with water, soy milk, almond milk, etc.).
  • Roughly 1/2 of a frozen banana (more or less depending on your liking).
  • 1 Tbsp of peanut butter.

Blend until it reaches your desired consistency. enjoy.

You can bake with them, the sweeter taste will enhance the foods you use them in. A stand-by favorite for me is banana bread. A variety recipes can be found HERE. I’m a big cereal eater, not Fruit Loops, but Wheaties (Team Wheaties shout-out!). These bananas go great sliced up in a bowl of Wheaties!

What I’ve been toying with here lately is making banana chips. I LOVE to munch on them while I’m at work for a sweet tasting treat with no added sugars. This keeps me from going next door to the sub shop and getting a cookie or two. I’m also looking at using them as fuel during races. I will be attempting this on Saturday at my race, the Harbison 50K. I’m hoping this can replace some of the not so good for you treats found at many ultra race aid stations.

Photo Dec 30, 6 18 45 PM

Photo Dec 30, 6 38 48 PM

 

The bottom picture is 10 medium sized bananas sliced and spread out over 4 trays of a dehydrator. I slice them roughly 1/4″ thick and dehydrate them for 7-12 hours depending on the crunchiness I’m going for. While running, I tend to like them a little chewier than when I’m at work.

So, don’t throw away these bananas just because the peel is ugly, use them! Brown bananas taste better and retain just as much nutrients as a bright yellow banana. If you use brown bananas, what are some of the ways you like to use them?

About dnancejr

I enjoy the challenges of training and racing with my girlfriend.
This entry was posted in Bananas, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.