Retail and Running…

Like many of you, I’m busy gearing up for the holidays. This time of year is always busy with events, family, friends, and food. This blog kind of took a back seat for several reasons… The biggest of which is work. I work in retail and this time of the year is our “Super Bowl” so to speak.

November and December have always been a tough time for me to find my running mojo. I have a planned 50K this January (Harbison 50K) that I’ve ran the first two years that Dan Hartley has hosted the event. I’ve barely ran in November due to small injuries, work, and other family obligations. I would even chalk up the lack of running to the extremely early colder weather we have experienced here in the southeast; I’m a whiner when it comes to running in the cold. I will train up for Dan’s race and hopefully be ready to actually break my course and distance PR this go around. I’m very close (30 miles) from hitting 1000 miles for the year. This is a goal that I’ve attempted the last two years but failed to get there due to working extra hours and a severe lack of motivation. This year is not going to end in me falling short of this goal!!

So my question to you is: How do you find time to run during the holidays while spending as much time as possible with family and friends?

I would especially love to hear from those who also work in retail!

About dnancejr

I enjoy the challenges of training and racing with my girlfriend.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Running, Training, Ultra and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Retail and Running…

  1. What is working for my training & spending time with family is scheduling. My cutback weeks are weekends I spend with friends & family. The higher mileage weeks are when I am all about training. Or have them join you 😉

  2. dnancejr says:

    Love the idea! I get up really early to get my runs in so I don’t miss the family time. After a week of 3:30-4 am wake up, I’m completely exhausted.

Leave a Reply

